25th Anniversary Scholarship Banquet
On May 31, Warrington Rotary Club held its 25th Anniversary Scholarship Banquet. In 1992 Dr. George “Rusty” Bullock an Orthodontist and Warrington Rotarian had an idea of creating a scholarship program.  The objective of this program was to reward community service activities of high school seniors who planned on continuing their education. Since its inception, 145 scholarships have been awarded, totaling over $130,000.  These scholarships are given to young leaders in the community who embrace the rotary belief of service above self.
The   25th anniversary banquet was very special this year, with fifteen previous scholarship recipients attending the event.  These guests included: Avni Choksi  2008 CBS, Brian McGlinchey, 2001 CBW, Brianna Bannach 2016 CBS, Brynn Dietzel, 2012 CBS, Ellen McGlinchey 2003 CBW, Himel Patel 2003 CBW, Jessica Rimdzius 2016 ABW, Lauren Hohberger 2014 CBS, Lauren Horoschak Ninoshvili 1998 CBE,  Lauren Mallon 2011 CBS, Massah Kachlan 2015 CBW, Neesha Patel 1999 CBW, Philip Clark 2006 ABW, Robert Mallon 2013 CBS, Shane Hensel 2015 CBW. Each alumni spoke about their life experience since receiving the Foundation scholarship.
In addition to Alumni, special guests included Rotary District Governor Elect Rick Gromis and his wife Susan, Maggi Boyer, daughter of founding Rotarian Leonard Point, John Douglass Chief Operations Officer Hatboro Federal Savings Bank and Assistant Governor John Ortolf.  These guests presented awards to the scholarship recipients.
The honorees of the 2017 Warrington Rotary Club Foundation Scholarship are as follows: Sanja Shah CB East to Carnegie Mellon Major Biomedical Engineering, Caroline Wend CB East to University of Pittsburgh Major Nursing (Steven B. Hazzard Memorial Scholarship), Kyle Farrell CB South to George Washington University Major International Affairs (Leonard Point Memorial Scholarship), Jack Traina CB West to Harvard University Major Economics, Joy Zhao CB South to Penn State Major Pre Med, Olivia Cantrell CB West to Drexel University Major Civil Engineer/Environmental, Kelly Cyliax CB West to University of Mary Washington Major Biology and Carley Cantwell Archbishop Wood to Quinnipiac University Major Occupational Therapy (Founder Dr. George “Rusty” Bullock Memorial Scholarship). Congratulations to all the winners.
John Douglass COO of Hatboro Federal Savings presents the endowment check for the Steven B. Hazzard Memorial Scholarship
to Vishnu Patel, President of Warrington Rotary Club.
At our regular weekly breakfast meeting on June 7th, Scholarships were awarded to two recipients who were unable to attend the Scholarship Banquet.
Olivia Cantrell (left) and Kelly Celiax